The Team

Ship Location

Apia, Samoa

Emily Ballard

Photo of Emily Ballard
Video Engineer
Recent Graduate
Ithaca College

Tell us about your work/research. What kinds of things do you do?

I am currently a senior at Ithaca College getting my degree in Television-Radio. This last semester I completed my minor in History. I am graduating early and will be ending my college career this December on our Los Angeles campus. I am working on becoming a producer in television.

What sparked your initial interest in your career?

I have many different things that sparked my interest but by far it was watching movies when I was little. Growing up with Dyslexia my escape was always movies. I would watch them and wonder about what went on behind the scenes. I loved learning how the movie was created. I started going to summer camps and just taking a camera and recording little videos. When it came to projects in class I always tried to find a way to turn it into a video. 

Who influenced you or encouraged you the most?

Growing up I was influenced by many people. When I was little it was Orlando Bloom, I looked up to him because even though he had Dyslexia he was able to get a major role in Lord of The Rings right out of college. I also was encouraged by my parents of course and by the crew of E/V Nautilus. As I have grown older I have seen that the people I meet every day influence me in some way or another.

What element of your work/study do you think is the most fascinating?

When it comes to working the thing that amazes me the most is the work itself. I wake up every morning asked to do a new task. I love the people I work with and the views of the countries and states we pass aren’t half bad either. I love every part of my job.

What other jobs led you to your current career?

While I have not had many other jobs outside of Nautilus, one thing that has helped me on my career path was studying information beyond my major. I took a minor in history.  I took science, education, and gender-studies classes. I wanted to expand my view and mind so that I could understand more about other jobs, not just mine.

What are your degrees and certifications?

Bachelor of Science in Television-Radio with a minor in history 2019.

What are your hobbies?

I love being outdoors although my work has me often inside a studio. Horseback riding, swimming, and hiking are just a few of the things I love to do.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to have a career like yours?

Work hard in school and follow your dreams, but while you are following your dreams remember it’s ok to change your dreams at any point in time. I also recommend pursuing the opportunity to go to camps or do internships. This is how I learned what I liked and what I didn’t like about a future career.